Home  About  Submit Site    
Aberdeen is a unitary authority and is also the HQ for Aberdeenshire. ('The Granite City') Some of the local areas include: Bridge of Don Bucksburn Cove Bay Cults Denmore Dyce Kingswells Peterculter Occupies, for the most part, undulating land between the mouths of the River Don to the north and the River Dee to the south. Granted a royal charter in 1179. Aberdeen grew up as two separate burghs - Old Aberdeen at the mouth of the Don and New Aberdeen, a fishing and trading settlement where the Denburn entered the Dee estuary. In 1495 William Elphinstone, Bishop of Aberdeen (1483-1514), founded King's College. A century later in 1593 the Protestant George Keith, founded the University of Marischal College which boasts the world's second largest granite building. The two universities were eventually united in 1860. Robert Gordon's College, which was founded in 1730, was constituted as a university in 1992. Dominated by oil and gas-related industries, engineering, fish processing, papermaking, textiles, information technology and construction and transport industries.
This directory is made available through a Creative Commons Attribution license from the DMOZ Organization.

© 2024 - Midnight Design Productions, LLC